blueberry coffeecake

December 1, 2009

Yes, I know I’ve been slacking on the posts. Thanksgiving was awesome, had a few ginormous meals throughout the week. My green tea cake trials didn’t end up turning out the way I wanted them to — it never got as fluffy as I wanted and was way too dense. As a result, I went with a regular vanilla cake with strawberries and whipped frosting. I’ll take another stab at the green tea recipes some other time since I still have a lot of matcha powder left. Anywho, I spent some time working with fondant to decorate the turkey day cake since the actual cake was nothing special. I’ll do a post later about that. 🙂

I wanted to try something new this time around, since all I’ve been doing are green tea cakes and cookies, so I looked on Splenda’s website and picked this one! The original recipe is for a blueberry almond coffeecake, but I’m not a fan of almonds so I just opted to leave them out. Also, just a reminder that all of my recipes are written for a small convection oven. Enjoy!

Blueberry Coffeecake
(square 8″ dish, serves 10-12)

* 2 cups all-purpose flour
* 2 teaspoons baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
* 1 cup Splenda sweetener, granulated
* 2 large eggs
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
* 1/2 cup low fat milk
* 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (if using frozen, allow to thaw to room temperature first)
* 1 egg white
* 3 tablespoons Splenda sweetener, granulated

1. Preheat oven to 325°F, grease square baking dish.
2. Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt — then set aside.
3. In a large bowl, beat the butter until light.
4. Add 1 cup of Splenda, and vanilla and almond extracts. Beat until light and fluffy.
5. Add whole eggs one at a time, beating until fully blended after each egg.
6. Add flour mixture to butter mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture.
7. Fold in blueberries with a spatula. Try not to overmix so as to avoid coloring the cake.
8. Spoon mixture into greased dish.
9. Beat egg white with a fork until frothy.
10. Add 3 tbs of Splenda, blending completely.
11. Spoon egg white mixture over batter.
12. Bake 50-60 minutes.
13. Cool, serve, and enjoy!


It turned out pretty well! The crust on top from the egg white tastes really good, but I think I might try for a crumble topping next time, just to give it something extra. The blueberries were a bit on the sour side, so I might throw ’em in a little bit of sugar next time too.

One Response to “blueberry coffeecake”

  1. MJ Says:

    yum! i love blueberries. mmm


Leave a Reply

