green tea muffin-cake

November 15, 2009

For Thanksgiving this year, I’m planning on baking a green tea cake (using Splenda, per my entirely diabetic family’s needs) and decorating it with fondant in an autumn theme. In preparation, I thought I’d try a couple of different recipes to see which one will be best. Tonight was the first trial. I got the recipe from RecipeZaar, but mdified it to my needs. Btw, all of my recipes are going to be for my tiny convection oven because my parents don’t see the need to buy a conventional one. I know, I know… it’s sad, but at least I’m not still using an EZ-bake oven right?

Green Tea Cake
(round 6″ pan, serves 2-4)

* 1 cup all-purpose flour
* 1/4 cup Splenda White Sugar Blend for Baking
* 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon green tea powder (matcha in Japanese)
* 1/4 cup low fat milk
* 1/4 cup butter, softened at room temperature
* 1 egg

1. Preheat oven at 325°F.
2. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and green tea powder and set aside.
3. In a large bowl, beat the butter until light.
4. Add the sugar and egg and beat some more until light and fluffy.
5. Add the dry mixture and the milk.
6. Stir with a spatula or wooden spoon until the dry ingredients are just incorporated (don’t overmix). The batter will be somewhat lumpy.
7. Liberally grease and flour pan.
8. Spoon batter into the pan.
9. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
10. Allow to cool on a wire rack.
11. Decorate as desired and serve!

Overall, it turned out pretty well. The cake maintained its gorgeous green color very nicely. I was afraid that it would turn a bit brown because I read it would happen with the brand of green tea powder I used, but thankfully, it didn’t! Next time though, I think I might add an extra egg yolk to make the cake more moist, as well as some extra green tea powder so that the taste comes through a bit better. I’m not gonna waste any icing & fondant to decorate this one since it’s only for taste testing. So don’t expect too much from pictures later.. it’ll be of just the cake. =P

One Response to “green tea muffin-cake”

  1. MidoriChi Says:

    Aww… but pictures would still be nice~ hahahaWouldn't it be cool to see all of your trials? Yeah?


Leave a Reply

